top of page

Snacks for the Stars

I am always looking for easy and beautiful small bite ideas and when I decided to host a last-minute Oscar party, I was given the opportunity to try out some tasty recipes with some new Owen Roe releases.

Every year on Oscar Sunday, my friends and I look forward to the fashion, the stars and we like to guess who will take home the little gold man. But, it wouldn't be the same without a selection of hors d'oeuvres and wine that are equally as pleasing to the palate as they are to the eyes!

I always like to add a lot of color to my table, to make a visually appealing mix of flavors and textures. Here, I paired our Yakima Pink Sangiovese with the classic combination of sweet cantaloupe wrapped in prosciutto and a fresh mint leaf. It is so easy to assemble and always a big hit with guests and the host...no recipe required.

The "fancy carrots" with celery and hummus were fun to arrange in paper party cups...again, no recipe required, but certainly impressive with the assorted colors of purple, orange, green and yellow. I found everything I needed at our local grocery chain. The flavors of fresh vegetables, fruit and a touch of salt pairs perfectly with the Yakima Pink; a dry Rosé made from Red Willow Vineyard Sangiovese.

Next up, bring on the carbs and the red wine! Here, I paired our 2016 Anna's Vineyard Pinot Noir (available only to club members) with a toasted baguette, topped with mild chevré, thinly sliced pear, a light drizzle of honey and a sprinkle of chopped pecans. There is a theme, if you haven't already noticed, this also does not require a recipe.

Sweet & Salty seems to be a favorite at most parties. Here, I paired our "The Parting Glass" Late Harvest Riesling with part savory/ part sweet & spicy puff pastry bites. The preparation is very simple: thaw out puff pastry sheets, cut into circles or squares, then top with a sprinkle of feta crumbles and quartered grapes. Bake at 350F until crisp and golden, then sprinkle with diced jalapeno for a little extra kick. The flavors of this mini tart with the dessert wine are perfectly paired and won't take much to finish off the bottle!


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page